TA087 | Poordream: Ninetynine

TA087-1500From Greek-born composer and sound designer John Valasis aka Poordream, comes his debut LP ‘Ninetynine‘. Recently added to Ninja Tune’s publishing house alongside artists Bonobo, Amon Tobin, and Flying Lotus, Poordream now offers this collection of songs that take the listener on an intense journey, set to explore the contrasts between earthly and urban, fragility and harshness, hope and despair. From ambient, organic and cinematic to experimental sound sculpting with electronic means, Poordream masterfully blends real instruments and field recording with digital textures and atmospheres in order to synthesize a unique mixture of world and contemporary electronic music.

Ninetynine‘ reaches into the human consciousness, illuminating undiscovered aspects of mind. The ordinary life of the city and other hidden, mystic secrets meld together between complex beats and stark melodies in a work of art that is unique in its diversity. By combining elements of dreamy, atmospheric IDM, breakbeats and world music, and expertly utilizing the deep singing of cello strings, chopped up and arranged to constitute beatwork, Poordream has constructed a listening experience that is both gritty and ethereal.

Features collaborations with Subheim and Zinovia. Mastered by Anglos Liaros / Mobthrow. Available on Compact Disc and Digital formats December 2nd, 2014.



  1. Despair
  2. Urbanies
  3. Bangla Razor
  4. Ninetynine
  5. Proof
  6. Open Probability (feat. Zinovia)
  7. Backbiter
  8. Flying Blind
  9. Acceptance
  10. Acceptance (Zinovia remix)
Share to friends
Rate author
( No ratings yet )
Add a comment